BEA2012 has ended
Back To Schedule
Monday, April 16 • 11:45am - 1:00pm
BEA Festival of Media Arts: Faculty and Student Documentary Awards and Exhibition

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

This session honors the winners of the Faculty and Student Festival of Media Arts Documentary Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.
Student Competition Chair: Dan Kimbrough, Misericordia University
Faculty Competition Chair: Leah Mangrum, Angelo State University

Faculty Documentary Competition
Long Form
Best of Competition:      Lisette Marie Flanary, University of Hawai'i; ONE VOICE

Award of Excellence:      Craig Schaefer, Loras College; Man of Deeds

Award of Excellence:      Derek Taylor, Southern Connecticut State University; A North Woods Elegy: Incident at Big Moose Lake

Short Form Category
Best of Competition:      John C.P. Goheen, Loyola University Chicago; Border War

Award of Excellence:      Larry Foley, University of Arkansas; Bridge to War Eagle

Award of Excellence:      Jan Thompson, Southern Illinois University; The Tragedy of Bataan

Technical Award of Excellence in Cinematography:           Melinda Levin, University of North Texas; River Planet

Student Documentary
Short Form Video
1st Place:              Emily Luft, Kyle Rasmussen & Karen Du, Colorado State University; Awake

2nd Place:             Michelle Kinne, School of Communicaiton, Florida State University; Shock Man

3rd Place:              Kayla N. Branch, Loyola University Chicago; Young Nun

Honorable Mentions:
Jeff Colebank, Adam Walsh, Justin Switzer, Daniela Castillo, Colorado State University; Level Up - A Film About Gamers and the Games They Play

Sam Banning, San Francisco State University; Arguing Three Strikes

Greg Jack Gutierrez , FSU; Book Mine

Karl W. Phillips, Michigan State University; RIVAL FILM-MAKING

Tom Doherty, Rock Valley College; The Rockford Pro-Life Community

Sofia Coyiuto, Pearl Juang, Michael Peer, Santa Clara University; Thicker Than Blood

Long Form Video
1st Place:              Daniel Koehler, Elon University; The Tobacco King

2nd Place:             Mark Williams, Brigham Young University; I Am Not My Body

3rd Place:              Nicholas P. Kuiper, Central Michigan University; Preemie

Honorable Mention:
Nathan O'Neal, Arizona State University; Stateless in the Dominican Republic


Monday April 16, 2012 11:45am - 1:00pm PDT
Pavilion 1

Attendees (0)