BEA2012 has ended

Sign up or log in to bookmark your favorites and sync them to your phone or calendar.

Sports [clear filter]
Monday, April 16

2:45pm PDT

Faculty and Student Sports Media Awards and Exhibition

This session honors the winners of the Faculty and Student Festival of Media Arts Sports Media Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.
Faculty Competition Chair: Denise Belafonte-Young, Lynn University
Student Competition Chair: Tommy Booras, Western Kentucky University

Faculty Sports Competition
Long Form Sports Video (11 minutes-30 minutes)
Award of Excellence:  Michael Bruce, University of Alabama; Bedlam Baseball

Student Sports Competition
Radio Sports Story / Feature / News (Weighted toward Anchor / Host performance)
1st Place:              WMUL-FM, Marshall University; Doug Legursky: A Super First Start

2nd Place:             Brandon Kinnard, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh; Titans Outlook: UW-Whitewater Warhawks

3rd Place:              Benjamin Kelly, Goshen College; The Maple Leaf Update

Honorable Mentions:
Mitch Mullis, University of Southern Indiana; The Edge Sportscast

Radio/TV Sports Event, Play-by-Play Talent
1st Place:              Pat Boylan, Kyle Binder and Chris Renkel, Ball State University; Sports Link Radio Ball State vs. Toledo

2nd Place:             Rob Cunningham, Rowan University; Rowan University vs. Richard Stockton College

3rd Place:              WMUL-FM, Marshall University; Marshall Men's Basketball v. Ohio

Honorable Mention:       Justin Allegri, San Jose State University; San Jose State Athletics

TV Sports Story / Feature / Show Element/Segment or News Program
1st Place:              Nicholas Gresham, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale; Nicholas Gresham All-Access: Saluki Practice

2nd Place:             In the Game, The Pennsylvania State University; In The Game - Episode 101

Honorable Mentions:
Christine Williams, Elon University; Concussions and Congress

Siera Lambrecht, Arizona State University; Sun Devils 101, Episode 6

Aaron G. Moger, Elon University; Elon Men's Basketball Preview

TV Sports Talent (Anchor / Host)
1st Place:              Ashley Hinson, The Pennsylvania State University

2nd Place:             Rich Pierce, Kent State University

3rd Place:              Brandon Kamerman, Arizona State University

Honorable Mention:       Briana Carr, Brigham Young University

TV Sports Event Production
1st Place:              Wesley Charles Beskar, St.Cloud State University; Husky Productions Bemidji 12/3/2011

2nd Place:             Ball State Sports Link, Ball State University; Ball State Sports Link Live: Men's Volleyball vs. #9 Penn State

3rd Place:              Tanner Smith- Ohio University/WOUB, Ohio University; The Bobcat Sports Showcase episode #104

Monday April 16, 2012 2:45pm - 4:00pm PDT
Pavilion 1